About Us

The Brooks County Public Library has been serving the citizens of Brooks County since January 31, 1880.  It is one of the oldest public library systems in Georgia.  Our library is a proud member of the state-wide PINES system.

The charter members of the Brooks County Library Association supported the library through membership dues of ten cents a month for ladies and children and twenty-five cents for men.  A building fund was started, and in January 1881, the library moved into the second floor of what is now the law offices of Long and Denton.  The ground floor of the building was occupied by the Quitman Free Press.

In 1912 the Carnegie Library Fund awarded the Brooks County Library Association a grant of $10,000 for the construction of a new library, but the grant was cancelled in 1919 after the Association failed to receive any bids under the grant amount.  Throughout the 1920’s, fund raising for a new library building continued.  Finally, in 1933, with the help of a $5,000 WPA grant, the Association began construction.  The building was designed by Lloyd Greer to house both the library and an assembly room for the women’s clubs in the community.  In 1939, the building received national recognition when the American Library Association included it in”Small Library Buildings”, a building guide for the ideal small library.  By 1974, the library had outgrown its former share of the building and moved part of its collection into the old assembly room.

The Brooks County Library moved to its present location on Barwick Road in November 1993

404 Barwick Road
Quitman, Ga.
Phone: 229-263-4412
Fax: 229-263-8002
Questions, comments or concerns? BCPLboardoftrustees@gmail.com

Everify Number: 426391

The Brooks County Library is an equal opportunity employer.

Follow us on Twitter @BrooksCountyLib



Monday, : 9am-6pm

Tuesday: 9am-8pm

Wednesday: 9am-6pm

Thursday: 9am-6pm

Friday: 9am-1pm

Saturday: 9am-1pm


**Please note: the library stops ALL transactions 15 minutes prior to closing.


Scott E. Routsong-Director

Melissa Bush, Branch Manager

Natalie Eustace-Public Services

Linda Thompson-Public Servies

Armetta Waller – Public Services


Irma Hall- Board Chair

Peggy Wilson-Board Secretary

Kendall Blankumsee

Johnnie L. Brown

Mark Devane

Patty Hancock

S.L Jones

Gladys Lee

Brad Shealy